3 Comments

Easy As Pie…er cake…Pumpkin Cake

Easy Pumpkin Cake

1 box yellow cake mix

2 eggs

1/4 cup water

1 cup pumpkin puree

2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Preheat oven to 350* F

Mix all ingredients in bowl with electric mixer at medium speed for about 2 minutes. Scraping sides of bowl as needed.

Pour into prepared pan(s)

Bundt pan – 35-40 minutes

8 or 9 ” round pans (2) – 30-35 minutes

I did this in two glass 1.5 qt bowls (batter divided evenly), then inverted one on top of another to form a ‘pumpkin’, then frosted with orange buttercream frosting.

3 comments on “Easy As Pie…er cake…Pumpkin Cake

  1. Pumpkin cake looks great. Your recipe blog looks great!

    Janell

  2. So, I discovered your recipe blog today. I know, I know. But I love it!!! And I love this cake – you are so creative. I’m totally writing you this week. My son’s birthday is coming up, and when he tells me what kind of cake he wants, I’ll beseech your fabulous wisdom on cake decorating!

    Ok – question on this cake – are you saying that you cooked it in 2 bowls, then inverted one onto the other to make a pumpkin? Now that I HAVE to make this cake 😉 I was thinking about cooking each half in a bundt pan, then inverting so it would already have those indentations in them. Any suggestions on keeping the outsides soft? Bundt cooking always seems to make the outsides less soft in my opinion.

  3. Yep, baked in 2 bowls, then inverted one onto the other after cooled.
    I would have done it in a Bundt pan, if I had one *sigh*
    I don’t know about keeping the sides soft in a Bundt. I wonder if a slightly lower cooking temp would help with that? I’ll look around see if I can find any info on that for ya.

Leave a Reply

