6 Comments

Apple Muffins

     

    Apple Muffins

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup unbleached flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1 medium sized apple, cored and diced (Grannies are great for this one!)
1 cup milk
1 egg, slightly beaten
1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted

Preheat oven to 400*F Prepare muffin tin.

Combine dry ingredients in large bowl. Toss in apples to coat.
Make a well in the center.

In a medium sized bowl, combine melted butter, milk and egg.
Add wet mixture all at once to the well in the center of dry ingredients. Stir just until dry ingredients are moistened.

Spoon batter into muffin cups. They will be rather full.
Bake at 400*F for 20-25 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Cool in pan on wire rack for 5 minutes, then remove from pan. Ideally served warm.

Yield: 12 muffins

6 comments on “Apple Muffins

  1. How small do you cut up your apple pieces?
    Sounds yummy!!!

  2. Hmm how small do I cut them? Think…about 4 raisins stuck together? 4 -6 raisins stuck together, about that size I would guess. I like them small enough to get soft.

  3. I have an apple bread recipe to slap your mama(aka Sean’s remark). I will swap you for it…. ;o)

  4. Oooh DEAL! You have my email, right?

  5. I printed this off a long time ago. I made them a long time ago. I liked them a long time ago. Last week, our home ec class made them as our first recipe (mainly just to cause dirty dishes so they could practice washing properly) but we all enjoyed them!! So, I made some more this morning because we were out of everything else.

    I still like them today. 🙂

    • Aww yay! I feel so special now…you used them for a Home Ec project (even if it was just to wash the dishes 😉 ) heehee They are our absolute fave muffin (next to pumpkin muffins..and…well..as far as gluten muffins are concerned..I have to come up with a GF section(s) on this blog now..I’m behind..sorry :~p)

      Anywho..glad you still like them 😀

Leave a Reply

