4 Comments

Oh Honey(ed) Teriyaki Chicken

dsc00551.JPG 

Honeyed Chicken Teriyaki

my adaptation of a recipe I already had

Prep time: 1hr – 1hr 15 min.

(yeah, it takes a while, but mmm it’s good!)

2lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1 1/2 c whole wheat flour

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

3 eggs, beaten

oil for frying

Glaze

1/2 c soy sauce

1/2 c honey

1/2 tsp crushed garlic

2 tsp ground ginger

3 Tbsp sesame seeds, optional

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 250*F

Cut chicken into approximately 2″ cubes.

Combine flour, salt and pepper.

Dip chicken chunks into eggs, then coat with flour.

Using a non-stick skillet (unless you are good with cast iron), pour a little oil into the pan and heat over medium-high heat.

When oil is hot, add chicken, a bit at a time.  Plan on probably 3 ‘shifts’ for this amount of chicken.  Turning chicken to brown on all sides.  Allow about 6-8 minutes cook time, each ‘shift’.

Meanwhile,  in a small sauce pan, heat soy sauce, honey, garlic and ginger.

As chicken gets done frying, remove and drain briefly on paper towels. Dip in honey mixture, to coat. Then place on a rack set in a baking pan. (tip, line pan with foil, then place rack on top).

Once all chicken is cooked and dipped, you may sprinkle with the optional sesame seeds, if desired. Then bake on rack in pan at 250* for 20 minutes. At the 10 minute mark, brush with any remaining glaze.

4 comments on “Oh Honey(ed) Teriyaki Chicken

  1. Well, how fun, all of your recipes in one spot. I had wondered recently how to make the Butterfinger cake.

    Yes, I bought all of the Papo figures 😆 that same day. 🙂 I’d still like to give them to you. Let me know.

    Off to blog! :mrgreen:

  2. Yeah, figured it was time to put these things all online. Actually, I think it’s my way of procrastinating a thorough revamping of my ‘hard copies’ but anyway 😉 I was always giving out recipes…this saves me a step..now it’s just “go here”

    I didn’t realize you bought *that* many that day! I thought, maybe a half dozen, but golly LOL

  3. This looks really good. I’m going to make this for dinner tonight along with jalapeno cheddar cornbread from here.

    annestrawberry.blogspot.com

    I’m going to link you to my blog soon. Hope you stop by and say hello.

  4. Wow. It’s not even FINISHED yet and I’m loving it. The ingredients were exact, nothing wasted, it smells and tastes WONDERFUL.

    Yum-O

Leave a Reply

