2 Comments

Movie Night Homemade Pizza

This recipe, as is, yields 2 large 11×15 pizzas and about a half dozen breadsticks.

2 1/4 cup warm water

1 1/2 Tbsp sugar

1 1/2 Tbsp yeast

2 1/2 Tbsp butter, melted

5 cups unbleached flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 Tbsp salt

Now, as with my other breads, I use my Kitchen Aid stand mixer.

Pour the warm water into your mixing bowl.  Add sugar and stir to dissolve. Next sprinkle your yeast on top.  Then go melt your butter and start measuring flour.  Giving the yeast just a moment to start to bubble.  It doesn’t have to be foamy or spongy, we’re just giving it a “moment” here. 😉

Then, I like to add half of the flour with the mixer on a lower ‘stir’ speed. 

Once about 3 cups of the flour has been incorporated well, I add in the melted butter and crank it up a bit.  I use medium speed I think, so, what’s that..3 or 4-ish?

 

I just let it whip things around there for a bit.  Something about that extra air I think does the trick.  This recipe has never failed me, ever! And I’ve used it a LOT.

Once I’ve given it a good few minutes of whipping around (still just using the dough hook mind you) I turn it back down to that slow stir speed, add in the salt and gradually add in the rest of the flour.

You can add in a sprinkling of garlic powder and a few shakes of Italian seasoning at this time too, if you choose.  Good stuff!

It *may* take a smidge more than 6 cups, it’s one of those things, same recipe, yet sometimes it just seems to need a touch more. 

 

Still too gooey.  See how it clings to the sides of the bowl?  We don’t want that. We want it to pull away from the sides, nice and clean.

You’ll want it still a bit sticky, but not gooey.

See that?  Hanging to itself and the hook.  Pulling nicely away from the sides of the bowl.  Perfect!

Now you turn it out onto a lightly floured surface. 

 

And give it a few hearty kneads by hand.

As demonstrated here by Eldest.  Smoosh.  Stretch.

Fold. And repeat.

Look at him go, would ya?

Get it all nice and smooth then put it in a well oiled bowl.

 

 Cover to rise until nearly doubled in size.

(and yes, the snowman towel aids in the process 😉 )

How long that takes will depend on how warm the kitchen is, how fresh the yeast is, all that jazz.  And I never really pay attention to the clock, so I won’t even try to give you a ball park figure there 😉

While your dough is rising you can prepare your other toppings.  Chopping onions, peppers.  Browning any meats.

We *just* started some turkey sausage here.  Brown, then drain and set aside to await assembly.

So, let the dough rise once. 

 

Then punch down and divide.

Now, the way *I* do this, things aren’t equal.  I divide it into 3 portions, 2 are bigger for the pizzas then the leftover I just whip into a few breadsticks to settle the restless natives while I get everything else going.

Oh, you can preheat your oven now…425* F

Now, back to the dough.

Until you get a feel for how much it takes for your pans, I suggest just dividing the dough in half.  Use what you need, as you stretch the dough to fit, you can pinch off the extra and form that into breadsticks.

All I do is throw the dough onto my well oiled (or spray works just as well, just, spray generously) pan and start smooshing it around.  Really.  No rolling, no tossing needed.  I just smoosh it around.  Lifting slightly to allow for better stretch as needed.  Pulling it to the sides to form a bit of an edge. I don’t do anything too thick.

Now, once you have both crusts formed, just let them sit.  Go tend to your breadsticks.  Take all that extra dough and gently roll into a ball then stretch it out. It’s that easy.  You can top that too if you’d like.  I throw some parmesan cheese, garlic powder, salt and Italian seasoning in a bowl, stir, then sprinkle on the breadsticks. Or even better (and easier) I dip the dough into the mixture, then place on oiled pan, pop in that 425* oven and bake for maybe 9 minutes ??

So, pop the breadsticks in then assemble your pizzas.

Ingredients:

1 jar pizza sauce

3 pounds shredded mozarella cheese

and whatever else you want…

diced green pepper

onion

Italian sausage

ground beef

bacon

pepperoni

pineapple

mushrooms

Hey, it’s your pizza… 🙂

I smear on the sauce, not too heavy now, that one jar does these two pizzas nicely, with a smidge leftover even.

Then, sprinkle a couple handfuls of cheese over that. 

Now, your breadsticks should be finished.  Take those out of the oven and toss one at each of the heathen at your feet. 

 

Don’t they look scrumptious!  My yahoos did those all on their own. 🙂  Yum!

Finish topping your pizzas if you’ve not done so yet.

Top that with another sprinkling of cheese.  We like to toss in some ‘extra’ cheese.  Like colby.  Even sprinkle on some parmesan.

Put the pizzas in…I prefer to do mine one at a time. It doesn’t take that long, so it’s really no big deal.  It’s just much easier to get a nice, even cook that way.

So, pop a pizza in, set the timer for 10 minutes.  Then check, you may want to go another couple of minutes.  I generally go for 12.  But check at 10 just to see how your oven likes it.  The more toppings, the longer it could take, just so ya know.

Now if you decide to cook both pizzas together, be sure to rotate things about half way through.

I just really don’t recommend doing it that way.  I’ve done it, more than once.  Not thrilled with the results.  The cheese doesn’t brown as well or evenly.  One crust gets extra crispy on bottom, the other doughy. And that’s WITH rotating.  That’s even with putting one in on it’s own for half the time then putting the other in.  It just doesn’t work for me.  If you manage it, could you give me some pointers??

So, well, there you go ….. enjoy!

2 comments on “Movie Night Homemade Pizza

  1. That looks delicious!

  2. I am gonna try the pizza dough, I am in search of GOOD pizza dough. I am picky about that! LOL

Leave a Reply

