8 Comments

Kickin’ Kettle Corn

Kickin’ Kettle Corn 

My personal variation of kettle corn.  If you’re not familiar with kettle corn, it’s basically a light sugar coating on popcorn.  Easy enough, huh?  Scrumptious!  Around here…lovely, but the only thing better…caramel corn!  But, that one takes more ingredients and more time (as you’ll soon see here as I’ll be posting a recipe).  My Kickin’ Kettle Corn is the perfect compromise.  The best of both worlds, if you will.  The butter, brown sugar and vanilla lend a lovely caramel flavor, but all with the ease and speed of kettle corn.

**Warning**

Kickin’ Kettle Corn has an addictive quality.  “My Recipe Box” cannot be held liable for any addictions and complications that may stem from use of this recipe.

That said…proceed to the recipe:

You will need:

3 tbsp butter

3 tbsp olive oil

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 cup unpopped popcorn

 

In a heavy bottom pan, over medium heat, add butter, oil, sugars and vanilla.

Give it a little whisk to break up clumps.

Next add in your unpopped popcorn.

Be sure you just have a layer across the bottom.  You don’t want layerS here.

It’s tight in there, but no serious overlapping.  Go ahead and give it all another whisk or shake around.  Just to mix it up, coat those kernals.

Now, medium heat, cover with the lid slightly ajar.  And let it be.

 

The lid not on tight makes a difference.  It allows enough steam to escape so that the popcorn stays nice and crunchy. *hubs tip*

Now the general recommendation when popping corn is to frequently shake the pot.  I haven’t found that to be so necessary.  Certainly not with this heavy bottom stainless steel pan.  It pops so quickly, lots of movement within.  No need to shake it from the outside.  But, if you feel the need or if you’re using a lighter weight pan, please, shake. 😉

Once popping slows to 2 seconds between pops, turn off the heat, open lid (away from face, just in case) then pour your coated popcorn into a large bowl for a final toss, to ensure proper crunchy and gooiness!

Toss a bowlful to each of the critters, sit down and enjoy a movie.  Or trim the tree.  Or do an Advent reading. 🙂

8 comments on “Kickin’ Kettle Corn

  1. I LOVE kettle corn, so while my kids are kickin’ their daddy’s butt at WII bowling, I am making your recipe, so I shall return with the decision!!! :o)

  2. yeah, baby!! GOOD stuff!!! LOL

  3. Weehooo! We’re making this today. :mrgreen:

  4. It took me two tries at this…and I still have burnt bottom kernels. But, I’m eating it anyway. I have a gas stove…would this have anything to do with it? I followed the directions…hmmm….oh well. I still love sweet kettle corn, burnt and all. LOL

  5. Go down to about 2/3 c. corn, see how that works for ya Amanda.
    It seems all of a sudden hub is the only one here who can manage the full 1 cup original recipe without black bits. No idea WHAT that’s about. I swear I’m not doing anything different LOL But, it works for him. Me..I have to cut back to 2/3 – 3/4 c of corn to not burn.

    And maybe turn the stove down a smidge. It’s likely heating much better than my smooth top 😉

  6. We’re about to make this right this minute and will let you know the results. Meanwhile, I’m wondering if I’ve found the reason people’s kernels were burning. You listed olive oil in the ingredients, but never included them in the instructions. Perhaps kernels are burning because people aren’t adding the oil. Maybe, maybe not. Just a thought.

  7. Our kettle corn burned on the bottom. We’ll probably try it one more time with shaking the pan.

  8. Oh, thanks for catching that Bethany. I’ll go correct it right away. 🙂

Leave a Reply

