11 Comments

Slow Roasted Sticky Chicken

 

I wanted that nice crispy, yet sticky skin with a moist, juicy meat.  I also wanted to try something a bit ‘different’, perhaps even unexpected in terms of spices used.  The following is what I came up with.  And my crew polished it off, so, I’m guessing that means I did alright.  Because I swear I did not starve them all day. LOL

Ingredients:

Whole roaster chicken, approx. 5#

1 medium onion

1/2 c brown sugar

1 tsp salt

1 1/2 tsp fresh ground black pepper

1 tsp ground red pepper

1/2 tsp dry mustard

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp garlic powder

you can throw in a pinch of parsley too if you’d like..I’ve been throwing some of that in just about anything lately

The day before prepare your chicken.  Clean out your bird, you know the neck and whatever innerds.  Then stuff the cavity with the whole onion. No need to cut it at all.  Just peel it then stuff it in there.

Then mix all your spices and sugar in a small bowl.  Rub that all over the bird.  Easy huh? 

Now stuff that in a Ziploc bag.  That’s the fun part.  Kinda tricky to do without smearing all your spices off.  But, it’ll be ok.  You could always make a teeny bit extra ‘rub’ and save it to smear on the next day, to replace any you lost.  Not necessary, but hey, if you’re having a really hard time cleanly getting that bird in the bag..it’s a nice idea.

Close the bag.  Refrigerate overnight.  Heck, it can go another full day if you’d like.  But at least overnight.

 Now remember, this is a ‘slow’ one, so allow the extra time.

Heat oven to 275* F.   Yes you read that right.  Low temp + long time = nice bird 😉

Now I like to line a pan with foil, to help with clean up.  Then I place a wire cooling rack within and the bird sits atop that. 

Cook in 275* oven for about 4 hr.  Even better, find one of the birds with a little pop up timer.  A “dummy” bird I call it hehe

Do NOT cover.  Just let ‘er breathe.  It’s all good. 😉

11 comments on “Slow Roasted Sticky Chicken

  1. Alright! Must try roasted chicken! This sounds wonderful!!!

  2. O.k., i was so sending my husband to the store for dried mustard and red pepper. But then you said ‘DON’T COVER!’ Are you sure? Why won’t my poor chicken be all dried up if i do that? This goes against everything i’ve ever been taught about cooking a chicken!

    I want to do this, and i’m super scared about that ‘don’t cover’ clause!

    Help me!

    • I’m sure. 🙂 At this low temp/slow cooking time, your bird will be just fine inside with a perfectly sticky/crispy outside. No need to cover. Trust me. 🙂

  3. o.k. i’m trusting you.

  4. i haven’t tried it yet, but i’m planning a version of it tomorrow. i’ll have to sub a couple of ingredients.

  5. Does it have to marinate overnight?? I can’t wait that long to try it & it sounds good for tonight.

  6. THE BEST CHICKEN I HAVE EVER TRIED!!!! And so easy too! Thank you thank you thank you thank you!

  7. If cooking carrots and other veggies when should I add those?

Leave a Reply

