21 Comments

Marshmallow Fondant

A new thing for me here, this fondant idea.  It looks neat, but I had heard it wasn’t so tasty.  Oh well, it’s a medium I hadn’t tried and you know how I like to experiment with this cake decorating stuff.  I’m not any good at it, but I sure do have fun with it.  Even though I often get myself on the brink of a breakdown.  hehe

Anyway, here it is.  The recipe can be found all over online, I’m not sure of the address.  So, my apologies for not giving direct credit, but, well, it’s not an original recipe or anything.  The same thing was found on multiple sites.

1 – 16oz package mini marshmallows

2 lbs powdered sugar

2 – 5 tbsp water

1/2 cup butter (ok, the recipe called for shortening, blech, boo, hiss..no WONDER folks say the stuff tastes less than wonderful, butter makes it better, right?)

First, melt your marshmallows with a couple tablespoons of water.  The recipes said 2-5 tablespoons and to add 2 to the marshmallows, but never said what to do about the other 3 ‘if needed’.  So, I just figured that part out on my own. Anyway, 2 tbsp water and marshmallows … you can either melt this at 30 second intervals in the microwave, stirring between each, or do it over a double boiler.  I have done it both ways.  Microwave is faster.  The results do not vary.

Marshmallows and water, microwaved for one minute.  Remember to stir after every 30 seconds.  To melt completely this may take a couple of minutes, depending on your microwave.

Once fully melted, dump 3/4 of the powdered sugar on top of the melted mallows.

Yep. Just dump it on there.

Now get that stick of butter.  You want to keep that out on the counter, handy.  Literally!  Cover your hands with it.  REALLY well.  Palms, tops, between your fingers.   Grease ’em up really well now. Trust me.  You’ll be dipping back into this frequently.

Then, dig in.

Just like you are mixing bread dough. Get in there and start working things around.  I start in a kind of pinching motion. The mix is so light at this point, it feels pretty funky. :p

Keep mixing, until all of that initial additon of sugar is incorporated.  There will likely still be some stuck to the sides, don’t sweat that.  Just get as much as you can in there, all that loose stuff.  Just keep mixing and kneading.  Remember to butter your hands again as needed.

Once you’ve done that, butter up your counter.  Yes, you heard me.  Slather the counter, and your hands again, with more butter.  Dump the now more dough like mass onto the buttered counter and commence to kneading in more powdered sugar.

Aaah, look at those glistening hands.

Just keep kneading, kneading, kneading…

Now, the recipes simply say ‘incorporate the remaining powdered sugar’ However, if you do that, you then have none left when it comes time to roll the stuff out.  AND, I didn’t find the dough needed *all* of it.  I probably added another cup ?? It varies.  It will depend on the temperature and humidity in your home.

What you want is a nice workable consistency.  You don’t want sticky, like when you first started this endeavor nor even when you first plopped it onto the counter.  But you want to be careful that it doesn’t get too dry.  Dry fondant = cracking fondant.  That is NOT what we want.

This is where I assumed the extra water came into play ??  Sometimes the mix just seems a bit dry, yet, like it could take more sugar.  So, I would stretch a piece out and sprinkle on a tablespoon of water then knead it all in again.

Keep kneading.

Stretching and kneading.  Bread bakers should do well with this part. Even if the fondant is a bit stiffer than your bread dough.

Doesn’t it look pretty?

Then there you go.  That’s it.  You’re done!  You’ve made fondant!!  Woohoo!

You can color it before storing or after.  Whatever.  For that, just work in some gel coloring.  If you are going to use one color for the whole mass, you could add this in as you are adding in the remaining powdered sugar, to make it a tad easier.  I’ve added it in after the fondant was the consistency I needed because I was using different colors.

Now, butter it up and double wrap it in plastic wrap.  You can store it out on the counter overnight.  If it will be more than a day before you use it, you should refrigerate. Then just let it come to room temperature again before trying to work with it.

When ready to use, dust your surface with powder sugar.  A sifter is nice here.  Nothing like having to work with sugar lumps when trying to roll your fondant nice and smooth and flaw free!  I use a small seive, personally.

Be patient.  This stuff doesn’t roll easily.  This isn’t sugar cookie dough!  This is going to take a little more time.  Just keep rolling, and turning, and dusting. Remember to periodically lift the fondant and dust under it as you turn it, otherwise you will get a spot stuck smack in the middle.  And that won’t be pretty.  Trust me. 😉

Before you know it, things will be easing up and it doesn’t seem so difficult to roll anymore.  You will want it to be about 1/8″ thick to cover your cake.  Be careful…OVERestimate the size you need.  It’s easy to cut it down, but you can’t add to it so well.  You’ll have to reroll the whole thing.  Or try to piece things together which doesn’t look pretty now does it?

Once you have that rolled out, give your cake a thin coat of icing.  It doesn’t matter if it’s homemade butter cream or canned stuff.  Just give it a little smear so the fondant has something to stick to.

Then, ease the sheet of fondant over your cake.  It’s not that difficult, really, it’s not, trust me!  I just make sure nothing is stuck to the counter.  Remember…turn and dust frequently 😉  Then I just reach my arms up under the sheet, supporting well, but letting it drape a bit.  Center the sheet over your cake and lower it down, draping gently.  Now you will go back and put in any creases, forming it to your cake shape, nice and close.

Voila!  You’ve just fondanted a cake!  (Yes, that’s my new word ‘fondanted’)

Now you can try making something like….

Nice and simple. 🙂

21 comments on “Marshmallow Fondant

  1. that looks so pretty. Could the kitchen aid have done the knitting? 😛 Just trying to get out of knitting if I don’t have to. haha

  2. Knitting? You mean *kneading* hehe No, I wouldn’t give this job to the Kitchen Aid. Even the pros on Ace of Cakes do this job by hand. Each and every time. 🙂

  3. Charm City Cakes purchases pre-made fondant. They don’t have time to make all their own. They knead it to get it pliable enough to roll out or when changing it’s colors. If you had to make a large amount of fondant, the Kitchen Aid would be a big help.

  4. THAT is gorgeous!!! Annnnd you made it look SUPER easy!!! Way to go mom! 😉

  5. I have always wondered how to make fondant!
    Thanks for the tutorial!!!

    Now…. where’s the recipe for those cake balls…??? 😉
    Those sounded sooooo good!

  6. Well I can’t take credit for the cake balls. PW put up Bakerella’s tutorial for that. They’re so easy! I’ll try to post something for ya though.

  7. I was wondering if i can use the big marshmellows and if so how many??

    i don’t have any tiny ones handy, but the big ones i have still.

  8. According to my research…the equivalent would be approximately 80 large marshmallows. (which is more than a 16 oz bag of Kraft large marshmallows)

  9. Hi!
    i was wondering how many cake layers will 1 mm fondant recipe cover and can you use cake from a box like betty crocker?

    • Absolutely you can use this fondant on a boxed cake mix. Mine have all been from mixes. How many layers? Well, this recipe EASILY did 2. I would say it could handle 3, though these are the only two cakes I have done with it thus far. I am far from a fondant expert. Just sharing as I go 😉

  10. After much research of my own, I finally ventured into making MMF tonight (at 4 in the morning, nonetheless). I was surprised to find that it wasn’t anywhere near as intimidating as I had heard it was; possibly because I’ve been experimenting a lot with breads, pastas and doughs very recently.
    Now I’m just browsing around, looking for various other ideas as far as decoration goes, letting doubt sink in (“really? That was almost TOO easy… Did I do it right?”), and I came across your page.
    Fabulous tutorial! I love all the pictures throughout the entire process, and now I feel very confident that I did, in fact, do everything right–it looked just like yours in the pictures.
    So THANK YOU, for having taken the time to write out the process in such detail, and easing my mind about my own fondant.
    =)
    –Korvenne

  11. Just wanted to let you know that thanks to your tutorial on fondants I went ahead and did my daughters 3 tiered wedding cake which turned out beautiful. (I did do a trial run cake for her shower which gave me the confidence to tackle the wedding cake.) It looked very professional and I received many compliments on it. The only tricky part was doing the 14″ base layer that required a LARGE rolled out piece of fondant. (At one point I had to roll it up into a ball again and add more sugar as it was too sticky and it wasn’t rolling out properly. Nerves were frayed at that point but in the end it all came together). The bonus was that it did taste good – I also added quite a bit of vanilla which turned the fondant into an “antique white”.

  12. I’d like to know. How many pounds of MM fondant to cover 3 tiered wedding cake? Thanks a bunch!

    • Oh my, sorry, I’m not an expert here. I’ve only done a few small scale cakes. I just know that one recipe EASILY covered the cakes I did. Each just being 2 layers. I would *think* you could cover 3 layers (just layers here, not tiers) with one fondant recipe. That’s the best I can offer. Sorry I can’t be of more help.

  13. I wish i would’ve read your tutorial first before making the MMF for the first time, as i also did not know what to do with the other 3 tbls of water. I added to the marsh every microwave cycle. I had a veeery sticky situation. Tried a second time, this time only using 2 tbls of water, worked out way better. Thanx for the tutorial. I understood mmf making more.

  14. Hi.. I like the way you explained all of this… And I have a question…. Why did my MMF contain loads of sugar lumps? I did everything like you showed but I stil have huge amounts of lumps. I have no idea what to do…

Leave a Reply

