3 Comments

Saltine Toffee

Update: This evidently is NOT the original recipe I used ‘oh so long ago’. One cup was too much sugar. Try 1/2 cup.  I will make again and repost that update, but figured I’d go ahead and leave this up for now because of interest. So so sorry guys!

This recipe has been floating around forever.  I’m surprised I haven’t posted it already.  This is oh so easy!  But also oh so addicting.  You’ve been warned!

You will need:

a cookie sheet with sides aka jelly roll pan

foil

1 cup butter

1/2 cup sugar

1 1/2 sleeves saltine crackers

First, preheat oven to 350* F. Then you line your pan with foil.

Next, start melting your butter.

See, I told you this was easy. No ‘thang’ yet huh?

Ok, now while you have the butter melting over medium – medium-high heat, lay your crackers out on your foil lined pan.  Lay them nice and neat, in straight rows, sides touching.  You may need to break some crackers to fill the pan completely.

Imagine a picture of saltine crackers resting peacefully in a foil lined 11 x 15 jelly roll pan *here*

Once your butter is nearly melted, add in your sugar.

Some may put butter and sugar in at the same time then turn on the heat.  I’ve always partially melted my butter first and gotten good results.  I don’t know that it really matters.  See, again…so easy!  Just give it a stir and let it melt. But don’t go far.  This will only take a few minutes.  You want to be back here when it starts to boil.

Now, go finish laying out your crackers if you’ve not done so yet.

Alright, now your butter/sugar mixture should be just beginning to boil.

*Juuuust* boiling and beginning to foam.  Some recipes say you want it to foam.  I have found I do NOT want a full on foam.

Next you give this another stir then pour it over your crackers.  Spreading it out with a spatula as needed to fully cover.

Now place the pan in the 350* oven and bake for about 5 minutes.  Careful! You want it to *just* get bubbly again.

Remove from oven.

Oooo look at that golden bubbly goodness!

Now you have the option of leaving it just like this.  Sweet buttery yumminess! Though, the ‘traditional’ way is to then top with chocolate.

Sprinkle some chocolate chips over the top immediately after removing from the oven. The warm mixture will gently melt the chips so you can spread it over top.

Or

You can melt some chocolate chips and then DRIZZLE that over the crackers, again, immediately out of the oven.

You can even melt different kinds of chocolate and drizzle some of each on top.

I was out of chocolate chips this time so I improvised.  I’m not sure how it’s going to turn out, but….I just mixed some cocoa powder with butter/oil, heated slightly and attempted to drizzle.  It didn’t wanna drizzle well.

It’s more like ‘blobbing’ than drizzling.  But, you get the idea.  I much prefer the melted chocolate DRIZZLE over the spread.

Let cool.  Then break into pieces. 🙂

3 comments on “Saltine Toffee

  1. Tara,
    That looks ridiculously yummy!
    And you have inadvertantly solved a deep mystery for me…. I never knew that the elusive “jelly roll pan” was simply a cookie sheet with sides. THANK YOU, for real. ;P

  2. Awesome!! Thank you!!

  3. Gayle first of all..seriously? You crack me up. Secondly..I can’t believe you’ve not had this stuff. It’s a Well Trained Mind icon!

Leave a Reply

