3 Comments

Creamy Dreamy Cheesecake

~My personal adaptation of 3 separate recipes~

It was tough to name this one folks.  The top two runners were “Creamy Dreamy” and “Luscious”.  Do you have ANY idea how stinkin’ cute it is to hear my 4 year old Boo say “luscious”? Oh.My.Goodness!

But Creamy Dreamy just seemed to fit.  However, you can call it Luscious if you like. 🙂

Whatcha need:

Crust:

2 1/2 cup crushed graham cracker

10 tbsp butter

1 tbsp sugar

Filling:

20 oz cream cheese

8 oz sour cream

3/4 cup sugar

1 tbsp vanilla

1 1/2 tsp lemon juice

3 eggs

Whatcha do:

Preheat oven to 300* F.

~Now, ideally you would have a spring form pan, but I don’t. Though, one of my recipes did mention a 9 x 13 cake pan, so, apparently I’m not the only person who makes cheesecakes in something other than a spring form. So, anyway adjust how you do this crust portion according to the pan you use/are familiar with. Following, is how I do it.~

Melt the butter in the preheating oven in the pan I will be baking the cheesecake in.

Meanwhile, enlist a child to crush your graham crackers, like so.

Actually, I normally use my mini food processor for this, but it was out of commission. That’s alright, the kid likes to help anyway and he was there, eager to do so.  He just got to be more hands on than I had planned.

Once butter is melted, mix in the graham cracker crumbs and sugar.  Now you’ll have a nice mealy texture.  Remove about 1/4 cup of that to a baking sheet.  Press the remaining portion around the bottom and up the sides of your pan.

Bake at 300* for 10 minutes.  Oh, don’t forget to put your extra crumbs in to bake too.

Remove from oven and let cool.

Lower your oven temp to 250* F.  I like to prepare my water bath at this time.  Just grab a big roasting pan, fill it about 2″ full of water and place it in the oven while you prepare your filling.

Get out your handy dandy Kitchen Aid stand mixer with paddle attachment…attached and ready for action.

Plop the sour cream in there for a quick 10 second whirl.  Then add in the cream cheese.  Yep, all 20 ounces of it. And no worries about that whole ‘room temp/softened’ stuff.  I take mine out of the fridge as I gather all my ingredients and make my crust. That’s as room temp as it gets.  Add in 3/4 cup of sugar and mix on low for 30 seconds or so, just get it mixing.  Now go ahead and crank it up to medium.  Don’t forget to stop and scrape the bowl from time to time.

Next you can add in the vanilla and lemon juice.

Followed by the eggs, one at a time.

Continue mixing at medium until everything is incorporated.

Pour the mixture into your cooled crust.  Place the cheesecake into your preheated water bath and in the oven for 1 1/2 hr.  Once that timer goes off, turn off the oven, leave the cheesecake INside for another hour.

Now you can sprinkle those reserved crumbs on top.

After that, remove from the water bath and place in the refrigerator for a good 6 hours to cool before serving.

3 comments on “Creamy Dreamy Cheesecake

  1. This is great Tara! Thanks for sharing!!! I’ll have to make it!

    Cheesecake is my very favorite dessert!

    Paloma.

  2. That looks really good! I imagine that I could easily adapt it by getting GFCF versions of the ingredients. I’ll have to bookmark this blog entry. 🙂

Leave a Reply

