2 Comments

Bacon Wrapped Beef

3lb beef (I use a chuck roast)

bacon

Marinade:

1/3 cup balsamic vinegar

1/3 cup olive oil

2 tsp cumin

2 tsp paprika

3 cloves garlic, crushed

1 tsp kosher salt

Cut your beef into chunks.  I just cut across the grain about every 1.5″ on my cut of roast.

Prepare marinade.  Simply mix all ingredients in a small bowl.

Put your beef chunks in a zipper bag and pour marinade over the top.  Squeeze out as much air as you can and seal.  Toss and squish it around to coat, then refrigerate for at least 2 hours.  Overnight is great! 30 minutes isn’t terrible.  But really, I would shoot for a minimum of 2 hours.

After sufficient marinating time, remove beef chunks from marinade.  I like to work on a big cookie sheet.  Lining my beef chunks up in rows.  Especially if I am skewering, then I want to arrange pieces by size so that each skewer will cook evenly.

Preheat your grill!!

Now just take a strip of bacon and wrap it around a chunk of beef.  Some of the beef chunks/strips may be better kind of coiled around itself, others will just be nice solid chunks.  Either way, just snugly wrap the bacon around and secure with a couple of toothpicks.  I put a toothpick in at the end of the slice and again covering where it started.  Though, not placing it when I began the wrap.  Did that make sense?  I just hold my starting end and wrap the bacon around snugly, securing the last end once I come around.  Then I stick another toothpick in back where my thumb was holding the beginning place.

Sorry, these don’t have the marinade on them.  These pics were from another time I made bacon wrapped beef.  I, obviously, didn’t use the marinade that time.

Now, grill ’em up.  I like to give ’em a good sear on each beef exposed side over high heat.  Then I will back the heat off a bit and close the lid for a few minutes.  Sorry, I don’t have great step by step instructions for awesome grilling.  I just ‘do it’. Look for Bobby Flay online or something for more exact general (boy that sounded like an oxymoron didn’t it?) grilling instructions. K? K.

Onward.

Watch for flare ups. The bacon, especially, will drip and cause some flare ups.  Just watch it so that you don’t get completely charred meat.

Meanwhile, if you’re experienced enough in your grilling to leave the grill side for a bit, you can prepare some onions and peppers to skewer and grill as well.  Or, you could have done that as you wrapped the meat.

I like to quarter the onions and then skewer only 2 or 3 layers at a time.  The peppers I quarter then cut those slices in half across. So, I guess technically I’m cutting into eighths, but not as strips.  The last cut makes a squarer chunk.

For pretty presentation I like to use as many colors of bell peppers as I can find.  This time I got a 6 pack of red, yellow, orange.

You can toss the peppers and onions in a bowl with a tablespoon of olive oil and a couple pinches of kosher salt.  Just give it a swirl or two.

Then, I do a round of each pepper and an onion, then repeat on the skewer.

When your meat is almost done.  You’re just waiting for the bacon to crisp a bit, add the veggie skewers to the grill.

Grilled pineapple is really good too, if you’ve never thought about it.

I highly suggest grabbing a fresh pineapple from the store and slicing it yourself.  Canned pineapple is generally too fragile.  It’ll still work.  But I find fresh to be muuuuuch better!

You want your peppers and onion to begin to caramelize.  Get a little char.  Soften.

The pineapple just needs a good searing.  Get those nice black lines on either side and call it good.

Now it should all finish together.  Remove to a serving plate.  Let your meat set for about 5 minutes.  Better for the juiciness 😉

Succulent flavor.

I mean, come on.  Beef + bacon + grill  ???  Yeah baby!

They’re not quite done here, but you can see some edges beginning to brown nicely.

2 comments on “Bacon Wrapped Beef

  1. oh my goodness. I could eat this right off your page. it looks wonderful 🙂

  2. ::drool::

Leave a Reply

