8 Comments

Pumpkin Cookies

First, let me say, this is not my recipe.  I got it from a friend who got it from a friend who got it from…..who knows where.  But we have all fallen absolutely in love with it!  We’re addicted, quite honestly.

Secondly, I will tell you I’ve tried other pumpkin cookies..they don’t hold a candle to these things.  No comparison.

Look at these lovely creations!

Thirdly, I admit to making a modification or two.  Sorry, I can’t seem to help myself.

Perfect Pumpkin Cookies

What you need:
2 c butter, softened

2 c granulated sugar

1 (16oz) can pumpkin

2 eggs

5 c flour (original recipe called for 4)

2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt (original recipe did not include salt)

1o oz coarsely chopped vanilla almond bark (original recipe called for 1 – (12oz) pkg white chocolate chips)

1 (16oz) cream cheese frosting

¼ c brown sugar

 

What you do:

Preheat oven 375* (or 350* if you have a slightly temperamental, higher heating oven like I do)

Mix butter and white sugar until light and fluffy.

Add pumpkin and eggs, beating until smooth.

In a separate bowl combine flour, pumpkin pie spice, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

Gradually add the dry goods to the wet goods. Mixing well.

Then stir in your white chocolate.

Now, I like to make these in this nifty small sandwich cookie style, though the original recipe called for bigger single cookies. The second friend had this mini sandwich cookie idea and I think it’s perfect.  It just really works, in my opinion. So, that’s what I’m going with.

For these smaller cookies, you’ll want to drop rounded teaspoons of dough onto your prepared cookie sheets.  Leave proper spacing of about 2″.

Bake at 375* for 16 min.

Cool slightly on the sheet. 3 min really is all it needs. Remove to a cooling rack.

Then to finish these little luscious bites:

Mix 1/4 c brown sugar (I prefer to use dark) with the can of cream cheese frosting and smear some on the bottom of a cookie and place another on top.  Flat sides together.

Perfect!

Now just try not to eat them all in one sitting.  It’s tough.  It really is.  Ask my midsection 😉

8 comments on “Pumpkin Cookies

  1. I am soooo making these for Thanksgiving!!! 🙂

  2. They look delish!!

  3. Oooo looks yummy!! Can I substitue real pumpkin (say when I go to carve a pumpkin) for the can pumpkin?

  4. I think fresh pumpkin is great than canned. Thanks for the simple recipe. I will add some chocolate syrup to make it yummier for the kids.

  5. Those are so cute. I think it is really indeed yummier for the kids if I add some chocolate syrup, Mel. Thanks for the idea. I also love the filling idea. Better try this as soon as possible so that when our family reunion I make it perfect.

    • Really….these are super sweet…I don’t see the need for the chocolate syrup. I can see *yummy* yes, but, honestly, these are CRAZY sweet already.

  6. Just finding this recipe now. I am definitely adding this. My husband will thank you for it too!

Leave a Reply

