Leave a comment

Southwest Chicken Pasta

I found this recipe on Pinterest, called “Southwest Chicken Chili Mac”. I thought it looked good, but of course modified it. Given my modifications, I thought it needed a new name.

Here’s the dish:

 

You’ll need:

chicken – remember, my recipes are big family size AND we are big meat eaters, so I used an average sized whole chicken, boiled then shred the meat

2 cans chicken broth

1 can fire roasted tomatoes

1 1/2 Tbsp chili powder

1 Tbsp cumin

dry ranch dressing packet

salt and pepper to taste

1 medium onion, diced

1 large green pepper, seeded, diced

1# pasta of choice, I used mini wagon wheels

1 cup frozen corn

 

What you do:

Like I said, boiled a whole chicken then shredded the meat. I did that earlier in the day as I had the time.

In large skillet, over medium-high heat a tablespoon or so of oil, dice your onion and pepper, toss those in to sweat.  Then add in chicken broth, chicken, tomatoes.  Stir in your spices. I ended up using 2 packets of the ranch, though the recipe only said a teaspoon ???  Add the corn.  You could use canned, drained. I just love and usually have frozen on hand. Mix in your pasta. You might not want to use that whole pound. Adjust as needed for your needs. My kids love pasta and I always need to cook a LOT of food, pasta’s a good filler. So, the whole pound it was for us. 🙂 Get it all mixed up.

Heat to a boil then reduce heat to a simmer, cover and set for about 10 minutes.  Something like that.  I was still adjusting liquid and dealing with children and figuring out just what I was doing.  But, seeing that I was using ‘hamburger helper’ type methods, I thought back to those recipes and I think that’s about how it works.

Anywho, there ya go…hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

