Leave a comment

Chocolate Crinkles

A friend of mine makes something like this all the time. I finally asked for the recipe.  My daughter made them and it was failure, to say the least. I don’t know what happened. But what we were looking at were NOT my friend’s cookies.

This year, I found another recipe to try it. And, *I* tried it, not my daughter. So, between the two changes, we have success. They’re bigger and puffier than my friend’s, but they are still wonderfully delicious!

What you need:

1 c baking cocoa powder

2 c sugar

1/2 c vegetable oil

4 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

2 c unbleached flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 c powdered sugar

What you do:

You’ll need two bowls.  One for your mixer and one for dry ingredients.

In the smaller bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

In the mixing bowl, combine cocoa and sugar.

I used my paddle attachment, mixer on “2”, then steadily pour in the oil.

Next add in your eggs, one at a time.

Add in vanilla.

Then you gradually add in the flour mixture. Before you know it, you will have something like this in your bowl:

Now you cover that and put it in the fridge to chill a few hours.

When ready, preheat your oven to 350*. Lightly spray cookie sheets with cooking spray.

Put powdered sugar into a deep bowl.

I like to use the two spoon method for cookie formation.  Oh sure, if I had a nifty little scoop, I’d use it.  But I don’t, so I didn’t, so, I like 2 spoons.

I scoop a bit of dough onto my tablespoon.  You know, a regular ‘table’ spoon, not a measuring one. Then use a smaller spoon to coax it off and into the mound of sugar.

Give the bowl a little toss to fully coat the dough ball.  You could actually use your hands and roll the dough into a nice neat ball and then carefully roll it around in the sugar, if you desired. But, I like to keep my hands OUT of the mess when possible.  Especially when y’all expect me to take progress pictures!

Place the balls on your prepared cookie sheet, about 2″ apart.

Pop ’em in the oven for 10-12 minutes.

Let cool on the sheet for a minute before removing to cooling rack.

Aren’t they pretty?

Leave a Reply

