Leave a comment

Potato Candy

I know, it looks blurry. I am so sorry.  I will get better pics as soon as I can.  If I make another batch myself I will post progress and finished product pics.  Until then, you’ll have to tilt your head and squint your eyes just right and deal with this one.  My 10 yr old made these.

What you need:

1 medium sized potato

at least 3 c powdered sugar

peanut butter

 

What you do:

Boil the potato..my original recipe says to boil the potato until fork tender then peel quickly…I don’t see why you couldn’t peel then cut and boil

Mash it up, then add in powdered sugar until it form a stiff, kneadable dough. You’re probably going to use 3 cups, depending on the size of your potato.

Once you have a dough formed, one that you can handle, give it a few kneads, then carefully roll it out to about 1/4″ thickness on wax paper sprinkled with powdered sugar.  Smear it with peanut butter. Now, roll it up, like a jelly roll.  Start at a short end and just roll to the other end.

Next, cut into about 1/4 – 1/2″ slices. You’d be better off using the dental floss method here, as opposed to a knife.  If you use a knife, you get a smooshed product, shown above. The cuts will likely come out neater if you use the floss.  Simply take a length of floss (not minted, mind you), slide it under the log, bring both sides to the top, gently cross and pull.  It will slice right through the dough.  Cool huh?

Place your slices on wax paper, chill in the fridge for a couple of hours.

Leave a Reply

